Skip to additional navigation Skip to content

Cllr Neil Clarke MBE selected as new Leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council

Last updated: 25/5/2023

The Conservative Group at Rushcliffe Borough Council have selected Cllr Neil Clarke MBE to become their new leader.

Cllr Clarke was proposed at the Council’s Annual Council meeting this evening (Thursday) by the party, who remain the largest group at the authority, replacing Cllr Simon Robinson who stood down at the local elections earlier this month.

Councillor Clarke previously served as Leader for 12 years from 2005 to 2017 and continues to perform roles in the Local Government Association.

The Council’s Cabinet was also announced:

  • Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Business and Growth Cllr Abby Brennan
  • Portfolio Holder for Finance Cllr Davinder Virdi
  • Portfolio Holder for Transformation, Leisure and Wellbeing Cllr Jonathan Wheeler
  • Portfolio Holder for Environment and Safety Cllr Rob Inglis
  • Portfolio Holder for Planning and Housing Cllr Roger Upton

Cllr Clarke was first elected to the Council in 1986 and continues to represent the Radcliffe on Trent ward.

He said:“I’m proud to again represent and lead Rushcliffe Borough Council.

“Having entered this new election cycle until 2027, we continue to face many challenges as an authority but also a great future in front of us as we deliver value services with one of the lowest Council tax levels in the country.

“We must continue Rushcliffe’s outstanding reputation as a superb Council.

“A thank you to outgoing Leader Cllr Simon Robinson who presided over a successful six years in office and I will look to build further on some of the major projects of recent years, not least the new Bingham Arena leisure centre.

“It’s a shining example of our ‘Great Place, Great Lifestyle, Great Sport’ focus of life here in Rushcliffe.”