Skip to additional navigation Skip to content

Winners and nominees praised at the Celebrating Rushcliffe Awards working with E.ON

Last updated: 5/12/2023

The winners and shortlisted nominees of this year’s Celebrating Rushcliffe Awards working with E.ON have been praised for their contribution to life in the Borough.

Residents, groups and community heroes took their place in a showcase celebration event of the great and good with media partner West Bridgford Wire yesterday (November 30) at Rushcliffe Arena in West Bridgford.

It celebrated the Borough’s wonderful volunteers, businesses, organisations, environmentalists and the best of its health and wellbeing, sport and food and drink sectors.

Winner of the Pride of Rushcliffe Award, the evening’s most prestigious accolade was Nicola Brindley who champions J9 and Tara's Angels, training businesses and organisations in the Borough for free in her own time, creating a network of safe access spaces for survivors of Domestic Abuse.

Her work included an appeal for children affected by domestic abuse in their homes to receive Christmas gifts, that reached out to over 700 young people.

Leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council Cllr Neil Clarke led the praise to all those shortlisted for an award and to the many local sponsors who supported the accolades.

He said: “Many congratulations to our shortlisted nominees all of whom are so deserving of this recognition whether volunteering or leading by example in their chosen field.

“The evening was showcased the incredible people who make such a difference to people’s live in the Borough and it was a wonderful way to celebrate their stories and achievements, so important in making Rushcliffe a great place to live.

“This year’s Pride of Rushcliffe winner Nicola Brindley from Cotgrave supports domestic abuse survivors and her work to help protect vulnerable people is truly inspiring.

“A thank you to E.ON and all sponsors, your support is hugely appreciated and for the roles you play in our communities.”

Media partner West Bridgford Wire Editor Pat Gamble joined the congratulations.

He said: “This was a special night with so many brilliant stories, not just of the winners but of all the shortlisted people and groups too, it’s heartening we have taken another opportunity to highlight just some of those who shine bright in our communities.

“Well done to all, you truly are all winners and thank you to the residents who nominated them for a record 350 nominations.”

The awards winners and shortlisted nominees were:

  • Business of the Year, sponsored by Rushcliffe Business Partnership

Winner: The Larder at Aslockton


Fordes Coffee, West Bridgford

Vale Clearances, Bingham

  • Food and Drink Establishment of the Year sponsored by E.ON

Winner: Tiffin Tea House, West Bridgford


The Atrium, Radcliffe on Trent

Poppy and Pint, Lady Bay

  • Environmental Project or Group sponsored by Leisure Energy

Winner: Friends of the Hook, Lady Bay


Radcliffe on Trent Conservation Volunteers

Friends of the Green Line, West Bridgford

  • Sportsperson of the Year sponsored by Holme Pierrepont Country Park

Winner: Lindsay Thorpe, Cropwell Bishop


Barney Corrall, Gamston

Megan Stacey, Ruddington

  • Sports Club of the Year sponsored by Lex Leisure

Winner: Notts Gymnastics Club, West Bridgford


West Bridgford Tennis Club, West Bridgford

Bingham Rugby Club, Bingham


  • Young Person or Group of the Year sponsored by Ideagen

Winner: Tollerton Primary School Girls Football Team, Tollerton


Nottingham Kayak Club, Junior Racing Group, West Bridgford

Aleesha Gadhia, West Bridgford

  • Community Group of the Year sponsored by Fairham

Winner: Countryside Enterprises CIC, Costock


Keyworth Community Projects, Keyworth

Wednesday Morning Coffee Club, Ruddington

  • Volunteer of the Year award sponsored by Rehab Beauty

Winner: Mark Pinks, Ruddington, award collected by Deborah Edis and Chris Pinks on his behalf


Norma Heard, Cotgrave

Catherine Fray, Ruddington

  • Health and Wellbeing Award sponsored by Step Up Rehab

Winner: The Joyful Jukebox, Keyworth


Sands Utd Nottingham, West Bridgford

West Bridgford Colts, West Bridgford

Project Three Minute, West Bridgford

  • Pride of Rushcliffe Award by Proludic

Winner: Nicola Brindley, Cotgrave


Chris Littledyke, Sutton Bonington

Brian Lund, Keyworth