You are here :

The Celebrating Rushcliffe Awards

Community heroes praised at Celebrating Rushcliffe Awards

Residents, groups and community heroes in Rushcliffe have been praised at the Borough Council’s new community accolades, the Celebrating Rushcliffe Awards.

In conjunction with media partner West Bridgford Wire, the new format combined the authority’s previous community and sports awards into a glittering showcase of the Borough’s great and good at The Becket School yesterday (November 28).

It celebrated the Borough’s wonderful volunteers, businesses, clubs, organisations, environmentalists, sports teams and athletes and the best of its health and wellbeing and food and drink sectors.

The 11 awards were capped by Lillian Burden receiving the Pride of Rushcliffe Award. The 80-year-old set up community group Just Friends eight years ago for people who are single and alone, widowed, divorced, separated or just lonely.

It now has over 50 members and extends company for those who need it most, including when ill in hospital or alone at Christmas.

Leader of Rushcliffe Borough Council Cllr Simon Robinson said: “It was a most special night for the Borough. I was bowled over by the communities, businesses, clubs and volunteers here, so many have stories to tell of the exceptional talent, hard work and determination where they make a difference.

“I think the awards have given people pride in their role in their communities and it gives us our identity as a Borough.”

All the winners and shortlisted nominees were announced and celebrated complete with a short film about their achievements and the lucky winners collected the award from the Mayor of Rushcliffe Cllr Mrs Maureen Stockwood.

The award winners and shortlisted nominees were:

  • Business of the Year, sponsored by Handelsbanken

Barrie Pierpoint from Champions Uk collected the award from Handlesbanken's Sally Smith and Ian Davys

Winners: Champions UK
Shortlisted: Purely Pet Supplies and Elsie's Attic

  • Food and Drink Establishment of the Year, sponsored by Rex Gooding 

Mahsa from Cafe Piano scooped Food and Drink Establishment from sponsors Rex Gooding, presented by Cllr Debbie Mason

Winners: Cafe Piano
Shortlisted: C.Brumpton Butchers and Alaturka

  • Environmental Group or Project of the Year, sponsored by Streetwise

Tim Williams and Ian Workman from Wilwell Farm Cutting Group collected Environmental Group from Streetwise John Scott-Lee

Winners: Wilwell Farm Working Party
Shortlisted: Aslockton Environment Team and East Bridgford Wildlife

  • Young Environmentalist of the Year sponsored by British Gypsum, part of the Saint Gobain Group

Samuel Mark won the Young Environmentalist of the Year award presented by Heidi Barnard from British Gypsum

Winners: Samuel Mark
Shortlisted: Neve Taylor and Rushcliffe Wildlife Watch Group

  • Health and Wellbeing Award, sponsored by The Botanist

Linda Smith and Linda Chenoweth from Chestnut Avenue Super Kitchen won Health and Wellbeing Award from Si at The Botanist

Winners: Chestnut Avenue Super Kitchen
Shortlisted: Forget Me Notts and Renew 37 

  • Sports Team of the Year, sponsored by Rushcliffe Borough Council  

RBC Chief Exec Allen Graham presented Lewis Graham and Alex Lamb from West Bridgfordians with Sports Team of the Year

Winners: West Bridgfordians U13 Cricket Team
Shortisted: WJ14 Nottingham and Union Rowing Club Team and Boots Hockey Club Men’s 1st Team 

  • Sportsperson of the Year, sponsored by Lex Leisure

Lex Leisure's Luke Colaluca with Sports Person of the Year Maya Todd McIntyre

Winner: Maya Todd McIntyre
Shortlisted: Jacob Clark, Rebeka Simon

  • Young Person/Group of the Year, sponsored by Blimey Creative 

RBC's Dave Mitchell presented Kartikey Parekh with Young Person of the Year sponsored by Blimey Creative

Winner: Kartikey Parekh
Shortlisted: Ava Harris and Ellie Winter and Joni Wildman

  • Volunteer of the Year, sponsored by Specsavers West Bridgford 

Stephen Rogers from Specsavers West Bridgford with Volunteer of the Year Neil Coles from Rushcliffe Squash Club

Winner: Neil Coles
Shortlisted: Bill Logan and Marc Scott

  • Community Group of the Year, sponsored by Rural Community Action Nottinghamshire

Jenny Kirkwood, left, from RCAN with Community Group of the Year winners Keyworth Cricket Club

Winner: Keyworth Cricket Club
Shortlisted: East Leake Tidy Team and West Bridgford Guiding 

  • The Pride of Rushcliffe Award sponsored by Proludic 

Pride of Rushcliffe Award winner Lillian Burden colletced the award from Rob Baker from Proludic

Winner: Lillian Burden, creator Just Friends
Shortlisted: Geoff Hardy and Lisa Dickinson, Rushcliffe Parkrun
Paul Johnson, Radcliffe-on-Trent scouts
Jordan Phillips, Scout Leader and County Youth Commissioner