You are here :

Election: what and when?

Information on the different types of election and when they are held.

What are the different types of election?

There are different rules for each type of election:

1. Local Government Elections

Elections for the Borough, Parishes and the County Council are held every four years.

Rushcliffe Borough Council Elections

The borough is divided into 25 wards for the purposes of Borough elections, with each ward returning between one and three councillors. The total number of councillors representing the Borough is 44. Borough (or District Councils) can choose between "all out elections" every four years or can opt for annual elections, with one third of councillors retiring each year for three years.

In Rushcliffe, all out elections are held every four years. The last Borough Council election was on 7 May 2015. Local government elections are normally held on the first Thursday in May. The next election is to be held on 2 May 2019.

Parish/Town Council Elections

With the exception of the urban area of West Bridgford, the whole of the Rushcliffe area is divided into parishes - serving approximately two thirds of the population of the borough.  Every parish must have an annual parish meeting, which all local government electors for the parish are entitled to attend.

There are 41 parish areas with elected parish or town councils, returning in total 351 parish/town councillors. Elections for parish/town council elections are held at the same time as borough elections and parish/town councillors are elected for a term of four years.

County Council Elections

The Borough is divided into 9 County Divisions, returning 10 councillors to the Nottinghamshire County Council. County Council elections are held every four years and are normally held on the first Thursday in May. The last County Council election was held on 4 May 2017 and the next one is scheduled for May 2021.

2. UK Parliamentary Elections

The maximum period allowed between UK Parliamentary elections is five years. There is no statutory minimum period.

By constitutional law, the timing of a general election is an issue of royal prerogative. Formally, it is the Queen who is responsible for dissolving Parliament by Royal Proclamation. In practice, the Prime Minister will advise the Queen and give him/her control over the timing of the election.

The last UK Parliamentary election was held on 8 June 2017.

The next election is due to be held in May 2022.

3. Police and Crime Commissioners

Police and Crime Commissioner elections are held very four years. The last elections were held on 5 May 2016 and the next one is scheduled for 7 May 2020.

Rushcliffe is part of the Nottinghamshire Police Force Area.

4. European Parliamentary Elections

European Parliamentary elections are held every five years. The last European Parliamentary Elections were held on 22 May 2014, the next will take place on 23 May 2019.

Rushcliffe is included in the East Midlands Region, which returns five MEPs to the European Parliament. The East Midlands Region comprises the county areas of Derbyshire, Derby, Leicester, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Nottingham and Rutland.

Further information

If you need any further information, please contact us at